Skip to content

Personal Sustainability: The hardest kind.

March 21, 2010

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted in a while. The reason is that I have, like so many other people out there, been a little under water lately. I live in Sacramento and everyone I talk to has that panicked, marginally terrified look on their face, as if to say, “I did everything right, why am I unemployed/bankrupt/losing my house/spouse/friends/life?” And I have to admit, I probably have the same look some days. I mean…. how do I devote myself to teaching environmental sustainability and life balance when everyone around me is just barely trying to keep their head above water? It just seemed so lefty-condescending to me. So, instead of putting the message out there, I have retreated. I have found other goals for myself and pursued them in a more personal and singular way.

That said, I woke up this morning with an overwhelming feeling that I had gotten that wrong; that the reason why sustainability fails over and over is because we ARE willing to put it in the back seat when it gets really hard. I realized that I was being a wimp. That I was letting the press and the hype of all the doom and gloom get under my skin and make a nasty little goal-defeating summer house there.

Now is not the time to retreat. Now is not the time to put all your energy into staying afloat! Now is the time to find REAL balance. Now is the time to find out what you truly NEED for a personally sustainable life. Most likely, recycling and composting is the last thing on you mind…. frankly, it has been the last thing on mine for a while now, but now is the time for that to change. There has never been a better moment in this world to do what we can as businesses and as humans to reach out and see how we can help each other, and help the world around us.

My commitment today is to reach out. What’s your commitment?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 11:18 am

    A great reminder! And recycling and composting, especially in these hard economic times, can not only save you some money (on things like mulch or fertilizer for your spring/summer garden), but can make you money. Our campus maintenance recycles the discarded bottles and cans at the school in lieu of having a second job. Granted, the environmental factor is a second-thought to him, but I like to remind him he is still helping, even if that isn’t his primary goal.

    So my goal today…. prep some outgrown baby clothes for the second-hand store!

  2. March 21, 2010 11:41 am

    Glad to see you are back with a renewed vigor. I think that Freecycle.org is a great way for people to recycle items but more importantly it can help people receive things they really need in these difficult times. I use it to find new homes for things I no longer need in my life and usually find someone who can use these items.

Leave a Reply

